With the weekend unfurling and a plan to have no plan, I have found a minute to tune in and bring things up to date.

To the point, it’s all about painting at the new house. It is complete, except for the horizontal stripes that have taken a total of SIX (6!!!) hours to tape off and we have one more row to go. This is such an exact mathematical application. One in which I personally am ill-equipped. If it were not for my amazing left and right brain thinking husband, you will have found yourself walking into a tripped out fun house where certain queasiness would ensue. Instead, with laser levels and patience (that comes, by-the-way in the shape of a wine bottle), we have conquered the beast and I am about to rock this mother out.

From a budget stand point, I want to break down the paint costs and wow you with what a little perseverance  can do. First, after cost comparing price points on paint, I found my true blue Sherwin Williams center to be the most suitable for our needs. With a designer/contractor account opened, my savings were tremendous just at that. However, a beautiful thing happened when I was conveying the scope of our project to Cory at Sherwin Williams in Covington. He had a substantial amount of 5 gallon, satin finish, white containers left from a previous job. He wanted to be rid of them and offered them to me for the equivalent of $10/Gallon. Unheard of! The paint could be tinted to any color of my choosing.

I did what any good girl would do and shook hands on the spot and invested in all the paint I needed to complete our home. The total of which ended up being $438.18. Now, had I paid a painter to complete the interior, I would have paid $3300.00. I am not great with numbers per se, but my calculator is telling me that is a savings of $2861.82. Wha-BAM!

The next step in this multi layered onion, is to prime, paint, cut and install the trim. To be completed by the end of next week? She asks in a hopeful voice.

The trim is another example of great savings on our end. Jim, the brains of this operation, happens to know a guy that had a box truck of mismatched trim that was just wasting away, looking for a home through its dust-colored eyelids. We have adopted said trim for a mere $100.00 dollars and it is enough to complete all our sills, casings, base boards and hand rails. This trim comes with a boldness, nothing wimpy about it. We are happy to bring it into our folds and give it a proper home.

All this being said, it is with tremendous gratitude and thanksgiving that God has led and guided each step of our way.  The process of building a home with your spouse in such an intense, hands on way, can be a great stressor in a marriage. I am happy to say that we are so dang tired from all the labor, we have no energy to fight. Only laughter, a few tears and a lot of satisfaction in knowing we have earned this. Fair and square.

